Akita & Metal Yeti – Full Release

We’re so excited for the full release of our first new models in a while, the Metal Yeti and the Akita! Both models will be releasing worldwide on Thursday, January 24th at 10pm EST. The Metal Yeti will be at most CLYW retailers, while the Akita will only be available at YoYoExpert, Rewind, Slusny, and La Tienda Del YoYo.

OFFICIAL RETAIL RELEASE DATE:
NORTH AMERICA – THURSDAY, JANUARY 24th / 10 PM EST / 7 PM PST
JAPAN – FRIDAY, JANUARY 25th, 12 PM JST
EUROPE – FRIDAY, JANUARY 25th, 4 AM CEST

The Akita is the first signature model for Mark Mangarin, and we knew it had to be amazing.

Mark is your favorite player’s favorite player. His trick construction is always unique and boundary breaking, and his work with the Scales Collective consistently pushes modern technical yoyoing forward in a way that is inspiring and difficult to keep up with. We knew that a signature return top for him had to be incredible, but with his unique style we had to bridge the gap between comfy Caribou-style and raw performance.

So, we did.

The Akita’s fat rims feel amazing in the hand, bringing back memories of the Chief and the Avalanche. They taper sharply enough that they increase the play area tremendously, giving you a full 40 mm of catch zone…perfect for those big body moves and tricky horizontal catches.

The bi-metal rings push a ton of weight to the far outer rim of the return top, and combined with the extreme width of the Akita they make nearly anything possible. Mark is constantly pushing the limits of trick construction, and now he has a return top that can handle anything he can think of.

Akita Specs:

Diameter: 55.10 mm
Width: 48.10 mm
Weight: 64.75 grams
Response: Snow Tires
Bearing: Center Trac™
Artwork: Mike Lundy
Suggested Retail: $125-$145 USD
BOX INCLUDES:
Assembled Return Top
Fat Kitty String
Limited Edition Hard Enamel Pin

The Yeti has been our most challenging project ever. Two plastic iterations came and went with varying degrees of success, rife with challenges, and both ended their lifespans early due to production problems that we just couldn’t quite solve. But the shape and the feel were just too. damn. good and we couldn’t give up on it, so we went back to what we do best…precision metal.

The Metal Yeti is a beautiful halfway point between nostalgia and the new new, with a play style that really makes us feel like it’s an instant classic. (Fun fact, the hub stickers are left over from the very first Yeti production run!) Something about this return top is just “perfect Caribou” and none of us can put it down. We’re so excited for everyone to try these!

METAL YETI SPECS:

Diameter: 58.6 MM
Width: 45 MM
Weight: 67 GRAMS
Bearing: SIZE C CENTER TRAC™
Response: SNOW TIRES
Suggested Retail: $65 USD
BOX INCLUDES:
Assembled Return Top
Fat Kitty String
Yeti Sticker Sheet
Limited Edition Hard Enamel Pin